Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content




Attorney-General for Australia


The Attorney-General and Minister for the Arts portfolio comprises the Attorney-General’s Department, and a number of statutory and non-statutory bodies.

Areas of Responsibility - Attorney-General and the Minister for the Arts

  • Law and justice including:
    • Administrative law
    • Alternative dispute resolution
    • Bankruptcy
    • Censorship
    • Constitutional law
    • Copyright
    • Courts and tribunals
    • Human rights
    • International law
    • Law reform
    • Legal assistance
    • Legislative drafting
    • Marriage and family law
    • Personal property securities
  • Legal services to the Commonwealth
  • Criminal law and law enforcement
  • National security, protective security policy and co-ordination
  • Protective services at Commonwealth establishments and diplomatic and consular premises in Australia
  • Commonwealth emergency management
  • Natural disaster relief, recovery and mitigation policy and financial assistance including payments to the states and territories and the Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment
  • Administrative support for Royal Commissions and certain other inquiries
  • Critical infrastructure protection co-ordination
  • Privacy
  • Freedom of Information
  • Cultural affairs, including movable cultural heritage and support for the arts
  • Management of government records

Agencies and organisations

National security and law enforcement

  • Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
  • Australian Federal Police
  • Australian Crime Commission
  • Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity
  • Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

Criminal intelligence and information

  • Australian Institute of Criminology
  • Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre
  • CrimTrac Agency

Legal services

  • Australian Government Solicitor
  • Office of Parliamentary Counsel

Courts and tribunals

  • High Court of Australia
  • Federal Court of Australia
  • Family Court and Federal Circuit Court
  • Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Regulation and reform

  • Australian Law Reform Commission
  • Australian Financial Security Authority (formerly Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia)
  • Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
  • Australian Human Rights Commission

Management of government records

  • National Archives of Australia

Cultural affairs, including movable cultural heritage and support for the arts


  • National Portrait Gallery
  • Australian National Maritime Museum
  • National Gallery of Australia
  • National Library of Australia
  • National Museum of Australia
  • Bundanon Trust
  • National Film and Sound Archive
  • The Museum of Australian Democracy


  • Artbank
  • Australia Council for the Arts
  • Screen Australia
  • Creative Partnerships Australia

Arts training bodies

  • Australian Ballet School
  • Australian Film Television and Radio School (AFTRS)
  • Australian National Academy of Music
  • Australian Youth Orchestra
  • Flying Fruit Fly Circus
  • National Aboriginal and Islander Skills Development Association (NAISDA) Dance College
  • National Institute of Circus Arts
  • National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA)