Monday, 02 July 2018

AAT Appointments

Media release

Today, I am pleased to announce four reappointments and one new appointment to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

Mr Peter Britten-Jones has been reappointed as a full-time Deputy President, commencing 1 July 2018 for seven years. Mr Britten-Jones was first appointed to the Tribunal as a part-time senior member in 2016. As a Deputy President, Mr Britten-Jones has the ability to work across all of the Tribunal's divisions.

Mr Matthew Groom has been appointed to the Tribunal as a full-time senior member for five years, commencing on 23 July 2018. Prior to his appointment, Mr Groom practiced as General Counsel and served as a Member of the Tasmanian State Parliament.

Brigadier Anthony Gerard Warner AM LVO (Ret'd), Dr Christhilde Breheny and Ms Julie Quinlivan have been reappointed as part-time members of the Tribunal, each for five years. Their appointments will commence immediately following their current terms.

Brigadier Warner, Dr Breheny and Ms Quinlivan are all experienced members of the Tribunal. Brigadier Warner was first appointed to the Tribunal in 2005 while

Dr Breheny and Ms Quinlivan both became members of the Tribunal in 2015 after having served at the former Social Security Appeals Tribunal.

All of the appointees are highly qualified to undertake the important task of conducting merits review of government decisions.

On behalf of the Government, I congratulate the appointees and I look forward to the contribution they will make to the Tribunal.