Disaster assistance for South Australian communities

18 January 2014

Joint Media Release

Senator the Hon George Brandis QC

South Australian Premier
The Hon Jay Weatherill MP

The Attorney-General, Senator the Hon George Brandis QC, and South Australian Premier, the Hon Jay Weatherill MP, today announced disaster assistance would be available to South Australian communities affected by the recent bushfires.

Senator Brandis said the assistance was being provided under the jointly-funded Commonwealth-South Australian Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements to the bushfire impacted communities in the Barossa Council; Mid Murray Council; District Council of Mount Remarkable; Southern Mallee District Council; Tatiara District Council; and the District Council of Loxton Waikerie.

“The Commonwealth will continue to work with the South Australian Government to ensure that immediate assistance is available for disaster affected communities so they can recover quickly,” Senator Brandis said.

“For those people who have lost their homes and other property including livestock, this will be devastating. We will respond to each and every one of those families to make sure that they have the support they need to be able to cope with the losses that they’ve suffered,” Mr Weatherill said.

“The range of disaster recovery assistance available includes immediate hardship grants and, subject to eligibility, re-establishment grants covering contents and buildings.

“I would like to acknowledge the extraordinary efforts of the emergency services volunteers and personnel who have worked tirelessly in South Australia and across the country. Their response to bushfires and the heatwave has helped to protect lives and property,” Senator Brandis said.

“SA Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements is jointly-funded by the Federal and SA Governments and administered through the South Australian Department for Communities and Social Inclusion.

Information about the range of assistance measures available can be found at www.dcsi.sa.gov.au or the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au.

Information on returning to properties should be sought from the Bushfire Hotline: 1300 362 361.

Information on emergency relief associated with the recent bushfires is available through 08 8522 0235.

For advice on fire affected livestock, people can call Animal Health Officer, Wayne Mossop on 0428 826 228.