Prime Minister's Literary Awards and formation of the Book Council of Australia

8 December 2014

Joint media release

Prime Minister
The Hon Tony Abbott MP

Minister for the Arts
Senator the Hon George Brandis QC

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards celebrate the contribution of Australian literature to our cultural and intellectual life.

Tonight's Awards recognise excellence in Australian fiction, poetry, non-fiction, young adult fiction and children's fiction.

They also recognise excellence in Australian history.

More than 500 books were entered into the 2014 Prime Minister's Literary Awards.

In addition to tonight's awards, the Government announces the formation of a new Book Council of Australia to promote Australian writing nationally and internationally and encourage and promote reading.

Books are vital to our culture and to our identity.

This new body will ensure Australia's literary sector and its writers are strongly supported.

It will strengthen the sector's capacity to respond to rapid change brought by new technologies.

Members of the new Book Council of Australia will be drawn from a wide range of literary and industry organisations.

We congratulate each of the winners and to all the shortlisted writers on their outstanding achievement.

The 2014 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlists and winners and attached.


2014 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlists and category winners




Prize for Australian History

Young adult fiction

Children's fiction

(* Denotes category winners)