Australia Council awards recognise outstanding talent in Australian arts community

19 March 2015

The very best of the Australian artistic community has been recognised at the inaugural Australia Council awards ceremony tonight. For the first time, new and established awards were presented to recipients at a gala event to celebrate Australian arts.

I was honoured to have the opportunity to attend the awards tonight and congratulate the ten award recipients of 2015 on their contribution to the arts in Australia.

It is a remarkable achievement to receive an Australia Council award, and an acknowledgement of the enormous talent, hard work and dedication that every one of the recipients brings to the arts sector.

This year’s awards include long-standing categories as well as new awards in dance, theatre and emerging and experimental arts.

I am delighted to congratulate Archie Roach, Judy Watson, Will Stubbs, Stelarc, Garry Stewart, Bruce Gladwin, Tony Doyle, Alyson Evans and Alysha Herrmann.

I also extend my congratulations to Thomas Keneally who receives the Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature.

The Australian Government is committed to honouring the achievements of our great artists.

For more information on the Australia Council awards visit