New Chair for Screen Australia

29 March 2015

Today I announce the appointment of Mr Nicholas Moore as the new Chair of the Screen Australia Board.

Mr Moore is a distinguished Australian with extensive financial and business management credentials. With over twenty years of experience in leadership roles in financial services, infrastructure and the media, Mr Moore will bring an exceptional set of skills to the Screen Australia Board.

Mr Moore’s business success and standing in the global business community will strengthen confidence and investment in a competitive and rapidly changing screen sector. He will help Screen Australia ensure Australian production companies achieve commercial success while continuing to engage audiences both here and abroad.

Mr Moore has been the Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Macquarie Group Limited since 2008. He joined Macquarie Group in 1986 and led the global development of its advisory, funds management, financing and securities businesses.

Mr Moore has been a member on numerous boards relating to Macquarie’s extensive asset management business, including Southern Cross Media Group. He is currently a Director of Macquarie Group and the Centre for Independent Studies, and the Chair of the University of NSW Business School Advisory Council and the Police Citizens Youth Clubs, a position he has held for the past 13 years.

Mr Moore has a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Laws, is a solicitor of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, and has also practiced as a Chartered Accountant.

Mr Moore has been appointed for three years.

I would like to thank Ms Deanne Weir for her service as acting chair. Her willingness to assume the role and her proven capability ensured the continued smooth operation of the board.

Screen Australia is responsible for supporting Australian screen production. Other Screen Australia board members include Deanne Weir (deputy chair), Rosemary Blight, Al Clark, Ross Entwistle, Claudia Karvan, Richard Keddie, Matthew Liebmann and Joan Peters.