Book Council of Australia

11 September 2015

Today I announce the appointment of Ms Louise Adler AM as the inaugural Chair of the Book Council of Australia, and release the Terms of Reference.

The Book Council will provide advice to the Government on strategies to strengthen the profile of Australian literature and literary non-fiction. It will bring important focus and attention towards promoting Australian writing nationally and overseas; developing and extending audience engagement with Australian literature; and nurturing a vibrant reading and writing culture.

$6 million over three years has been committed to the Council and the funding of initiatives it recommends.

The Book Council of Australia has been established following wide-ranging consultation with the sector which demonstrated the importance of collaboration in responding to existing and emerging challenges.

The book sector makes an important contribution to Australia’s wisdom and culture as well as to our economy. The industry has demonstrated remarkable resilience by embracing new technologies.

Ms Adler will be joined on the Council by representatives appointed from a wide range of literary and industry organisations including the Australian Society of Authors, the Australian Publishers Association, the Australian Booksellers Association, the Australian Literary Agents’ Association and the Australian Library and Information Association.

I have also invited esteemed academic and author Professor David Throsby AO; Mr Steve Cox, Managing Director of Dymocks and of Dymock’s Children’s Charities, and Mr Jon Page, General Manager of independent bookstore Pages & Pages Booksellers and former President of the Australian Booksellers Association, to join the Book Council. These three individuals will provide further breadth of industry experience and expertise to support the Council in providing advice to Government.

The Terms of Reference are attached: