Skip to main content

Reappointments to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Media Release

The Government is pleased to announce thirteen reappointments to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal. The Tribunal serves an important function of providing independent merits review and the Government is committed to ensuring the Tribunal has the resources it needs to provide high quality merits review with minimum delay.

The Government has made the following reappointments:

One part-time Deputy President:

  • The Honourable Dennis Cowdroy AO QC

Seven full-time members:

  • Mr Theodore Tavoularis
  • Dr Louise Bygrave
  • Mr Kent Chapman
  • Mr Jeffrey Thomson
  • Ms Justine Clarke
  • Ms Jennifer Cripps Watts
  • Mr Justin Meyer

Five part-time members:

  • Professor David Ben-Tovim
  • Ms Angela Cranston
  • Mr Michael Manetta
  • Ms Jane Marquard
  • Mr James Silva

All of the appointees are highly qualified to undertake the important task of conducting merits review of government decisions.

On behalf of the Government, I congratulate all appointees, and I look forward to the contribution they will make to the Tribunal.