Skip to main content

Media releases


Media releases published by the Attorney-General.

Latest media releases

Appointments to the Federal Circuit Court of Australia

Today, I am pleased to announce the appointment of two judges to the Federal Circuit Court of Australia: Mr Terry Betts to the Newcastle Registry and Mr Bruce Smith to the Sydney Registry.

Holding Russia responsible for its role in the downing of MH17

The Joint Investigation Team yesterday released significant findings that the missile system used to down MH17 belonged to the 53rd Brigade of the Russian army. Based on these findings, the only conclusion we can reasonably now draw is that Russia was directly involved in the downing of MH17.

Counter terrorism laws extended and enhanced

Minister for Home Affairs
Minister for Immigration and Border Protection
The Hon Peter Dutton MP

Review of Commonwealth Legal Assistance Arrangements

Today I am pleased to announce the terms of reference for the reviews of the National Partnership Agreement on Legal Assistance Services 2015-20 and the Indigenous Legal Assistance Program.

Australia signs transfer of prisoners treaty with United Arab Emirates

Today, I signed an important treaty with the United Arab Emirates’ Foreign Minister, His Highness Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, in Canberra to allow for the transfer of prisoners between our countries.

High Court – Katy Gallagher

The High Court has today decided that Katy Gallagher was ineligible to be elected to the Senate because she was a dual citizen at the close of nominations for the 2016 Federal Election.

Commencement of selection process for Race Discrimination Commissioner

The Turnbull Government today commences a merit selection process for the position of Race Discrimination Commissioner at the Australian Human Rights Commission.

Appointment of National Native Title Tribunal President

I am pleased to announce that the Honourable Justice John Dowsett AM has been appointed as the Full-Time President of the National Native Title Tribunal.

Administrative Appeals Tribunal appointments

Today, I am pleased to announce the reappointment of Mr Ian Molloy as a Deputy President and Mr Nicholas Gaudion as a member to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, each for a period of five years.

Reappointment of First Parliamentary Counsel

I am pleased to announce the reappointment of Mr Peter Quiggin PSM as First Parliamentary Counsel to the Office of Parliamentary Counsel (OPC) for five years, commencing on 13 May 2018.